Musicians On Call

Yesterday, I was able to learn more about an organization called Musicians On Call. The organization recently started a Young Professional Committee of the group. The event that was held on yesterday was the launch party for their Young Professionals Committee. The event was titles Breakfast Before Bed. How cool!

The event was filled with pretty and accomplished women in their late 20’s and 30’s. As soon as I walked in I was greeted by the leader of the YPC. I was able to ask questions about volunteering and membership obligations at ease. The members and volunteers were pretty friendly. That is a plus for me since I am going into this without being apart of the ready-made clique. The breakfast buffet was a neat idea. With as many events, like this one, that I attend this concept was very different. The event was held at 12th and Porter, which linked them with a prized music city venue. Once arriving, I was given 2 drink tickets for the mimosa cocktail that the bar had pre-prepared. The food was amazing. As a fat girl, hiding in my skinny body, I enjoyed the bacon most of all. 🙂 I am such a traditional Southern dame. I doubt that I would ever get on the no-meat/no pork food train. Believe me, pork will probably be the cause of my death. haha. Well, I rather it be pork than smoking or drugs.

Anyhow, I got distracted when talking about bacon… During the event, the leaders informed the crowd of the mission of the organization. Mainly the singer/songwriters are guided throughout hospitals by volunteers to different rooms to sing to the patients. Isn’t that awesome. Who doesn’t like music? The YPC is another way of supporting and getting involved with the organization. Being apart of the YPC allows you to do some of the behind the scenes work and ensuring that they are able to reach their fundraising goal of $10,000.The bonus was getting to hear Barefoot Blue Jean Night performed by Stephen Thomas Erlewine, the guy who wrote the song for Jake Owen.

 

If you are looking for volunteer opportunities and connecting with the music city industry in Nashville, I suggest that you look up Musicians on Call.

 

Which songs make you feel better when you are down?

 

For me, it is always “A Little Bit Stronger” by Sara Evans.

 

–Country Chic Chronicles

Leave a Reply

