Summertime Sangria

 

The best thing about summer time is being able to sit outside and sip on pretty cocktails. I am testing out several recipes that I see online until I find my favorite go-to drinks. I recently made a Red Sangria for Mother’s Day. It turned out better than I could expect. The picture appears to be way lighter than it really was.

I got the recipe from one of my favorite blogs- Iowa Girl Eats.

Summertime Sangria Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 bottle merlot
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges
  • 1 orange, cut into wedges
  • 2-3 Tablespoons sugar (I used 3)
  • 2  shots rum
  • 2-3 cups of club soda
  • Other fruit: strawberries, blueberries, kiwi, peaches, raspberries

Directions:

Combine wine,lemon slices, orange slices, sugar and rum into a pitcher.

 

The smell of this wine was sooooo good.

 

I started with two nice sized orange and lemon and then cut them into wedges on my cutting board.

 

 

After I cut up the lemon and orange into nice slices, I combined them into the container with the wine in it.

 

I added sugar to the fruit and wine mixture.

The best part was adding the rum to the mixture. I think I wanted to add more than 2 shots.

Notice the size of my shot glass. hehe.

In goes the rum!

Next, muddle with the back of a large spoon to get the fruit to release some of its juice, and to dissolve the sugar.

Put into the fridge. Just before serving, stir in club soda. Serve over ice and fruit. I allowed my fruit to soak overnight and that is what I will recommend if you are planning to make a sangria.

Happy Summer Sipping. I plan to make a white sangria next.

 

–Country Chic Chronicles

Leave a Reply

