Music City Hot Chicken Festival Recap

It has now become a tradition for me to attend the Hot Chicken Festival in East Park on the 4th of July. This year is no different. I woke up early on Wednesday to get ready for the festival. This year, I attended with a couple of gal pals. This was their first year attending which is probably not a good thing.

I may need to attend next year with season vets that will understand that the lines for the hot chicken will be painfully long and will make you want to leave and just go to Kroger and buy chicken to cook yourself.

You also must have people that like spicy food. It was slightly comical that some people thought Hot Chicken Festival meant that it was hot outside and folks were eating chicken… lol. No, no, no Nashville is known got hellish spicy chicken. The redder the better!

A newbie must know and understand that it will be blazing hot outside and to dress appropriately. I saw folks with long sleeved shirts on that I thought may pass out. The best place to chill is under the Yazoo Beer tent. It only allows people that are 21 and up, so if you are anti-minors, this is a great place.

The beer is a little pricy, but the money goes to Friends of Shelby which benefits Shelby Park in East Nashville.

Finally for the chicken. I braved the line in the heat for the 400 degrees chicken. By the time I got to the front of the line, they were out of the 400 flavor. That sucked a lot. I did get to try the 200 and the 100 flavor. The 100 flavor still has a little kick to it.

I didn’t get to watch the hot chicken cooking contest so I am unsure who won. But I did find this video of the winner from last year cooking up his recipe for Channel 5 news. It made me want to make my own again. I have tried to make a baked hot chicken version before.

Nick Worley, 2011 Amateur Winner at the Hot Chicken Festival, made Chumpdog Hot Chicken.

NewsChannel5.com | Nashville News, Weather

How did you spend your 4th of July? 

–Country Chic Chronicles

Leave a Reply

