Austin Food and Wine Festival Recap Day 1

This has currently been the summer of the foodie and I am totally NOT complaining. A few weeks ago, I made the trek to Austin, Texas to partake in the Austin Food & Wine Festival.

IMG_20130426_203933

During the Houston layover, I got to have my favorite beer.

During the Houston layover, I got to have my favorite beer.

 

One bonus about traveling on this trip is that I had a layover in my second city of Houston. I got to go back to Pappadaeux for some gumbo and oysters. Amazing!!
IMG_20130426_204230

 

IMG_20130426_210136

 

This is a new festival, only on it’s second year. I was excited to try it out, but also kinda wary due to the not-so-nice reviews I read about the first year mishaps. I applied for a media pass but was denied :(. Even this that… I still attended the festival on my own dime and enjoyed myself.

IMG_20130427_093903

The first day of the conference began on a Saturday.

I treked over to Butler Park near downtown Austin. I was really about attending the Tim Love cooking demo and so was many of other people. The line was HUGE. I have the basic ticket package, which was the Taste Pass ($250) that didn’t have the added perks that the Savor Pass ($850) did, so I had to wait in the longer line until all of the Savor Pass holders were checked in. I was mighty lucky, since I was alone, it was easy for singles to cut up front to have a grill. Most of the people were traveling in pack and didn’t want to be separated. Win for me! Enjoy my recap from the sessions to the grand tastings. Day 1 rocked!!

114_1441

Starting the day grilling with Tim Love and 2 bottles of wine spoiled me to death!!


114_1440

The set up.[/caption
[caption id="attachment_1470" align="aligncenter" width="300"]114_1442 The great grill-master Tim Love

114_1443

The meat looked so amazing, I couldn't wait to put it on the grill.

The meat looked so amazing, I couldn’t wait to put it on the grill.

We had asparagus,a head of cauliflower, ribeye, and tri tip steak.

We had asparagus,a head of cauliflower, ribeye, and tri tip steak.

Looking into the bag we all received for the hands on grilling demo.

Looking into the bag we all received for the hands on grilling demo.

After every instruction... we had to take a sip.

After every instruction… we had to take a sip.

Meat resting

Meat resting

A HUGE fan of red meat.

A HUGE fan of red meat.

The finished product. Great breakfast!

The finished product. Great breakfast!

114_1455

The first session was a blast. I was totally pumped and ready to attend the other sessions.

The first session was a blast. I was totally pumped and ready to attend the other sessions.

We had the opportunity to Chocomize our own candy bar.... Thanks Buick for sponsoring this treat.

We had the opportunity to Chocomize our own candy bar…. Thanks Buick for sponsoring this treat.

114_1470

Wine was everywhere during the breaks.

Wine was everywhere during the breaks.

Cheers

Cheers

Up next learning how to give those leftovers a makeover as globe-straddling super chef Marcus Samuelsson demonstrates easy ways to turn yesterday’s dinner into tonight’s sexy supper.

Up next learning how to give those leftovers a makeover as globe-straddling super chef Marcus Samuelsson demonstrates easy ways to turn yesterday’s dinner into tonight’s sexy supper.

Tim Love walking by. Easy access to so many Top Chefs.

Tim Love walking by. Easy access to so many Top Chefs.

One Pot Party session with  Jon Shook & Vinny Dotolo

One Pot Party session with Jon Shook & Vinny Dotolo

 Jon Shook & Vinny Dotolo

Jon Shook & Vinny Dotolo

Must try their restaurant in LA.

Must try their restaurant in LA.

Grand Tasting tents awaits

Grand Tasting tents awaits

People were everywhere and the weather was amazing.

People were everywhere and the weather was amazing.

Kitchen Aid was a huge sponsor

Kitchen Aid was a huge sponsor

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Beer!!

Beer!!

More Beer!!!

More Beer!!!

Fireman 4. We always have this at our tailgates in Houston.

Fireman 4. We always have this at our tailgates in Houston.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Views from the Grand Tasting tents.

Had to take a photo break with the fashionable Marcus.

Had to take a photo break with the fashionable Marcus.

114_1500

Sure miss HEB

114_1501

Treats from HEB.

114_1502

Needed a quick coffee break.

114_1504

butterface

114_1503

This was so amazing

114_1506

BBQ in Texas… of course

114_1507

Views from the Grand Tasting

114_1512

To balance out the beef…. with something refreshing.

114_1519

Panna Cotta

Wine

Wine

114_1525

More wine


114_1524
There was a DJ in the Grand Tasting area.

There was a DJ in the Grand Tasting area.


114_1528

Ketel One mixed with ginger beer. Surprisingly tasty.


Food trucks were there too.

Food trucks were there too.


114_1536

Austin Food Trucks


114_1542

Inside the air stream


114_1539

Austin Food Trucks


114_1541
114_1544
I ended my day 1 with seeing The Master Chef star, Graham Elliot. He was a hoot.

I ended my day 1 with seeing The Master Chef star, Graham Elliot. He was a hoot.


Graham Elliot of Chicago.. I must visit his restaurant.

Graham Elliot of Chicago.. I must visit his restaurant.

Leave a Reply

